Buffao Skyline.jpg

Commission Board Members


George Scott, Chair

Former President of the CMC

Representative of the Historic Colored Musician's Club

Lillie V. Wiley-Upshaw, Vice Chair

Former Vice Dean of University of Buffalo Law School,

Representative of the Buffalo Niagara Freedom Station Coalition 

George Alexander, Treasurer

Assistant Professor Erie County Community College

Sharon Holley

Owner of Zawadi Books,

Representative of Michigan Street Preservation Corporation


Sheila Brown

CEO of Vision Multi-Media and owner of WUFO 1080 AM radio

Representative of WUFO Black History Radio Collective

Anthony Johnson

Partner at Buffalo Biosciences 

Dr. Cynthia Conides

Associate Professor Buffalo State College

Dr. Lillian S. Williams

Associate Professor University of Buffalo

Dorothy Hill

Former President of the Langston Hughes Institute


Judge James McLeod

Judge Buffalo City Court

Staff, Consultants, & Operations


Terry Alford, MAOL, Executive Director

Audrey Clark, Project Manager

Roxanne Kise, Consultant

tmasterflash (1).png

Executive Director, Terry Alford. 

Our Committees 


Executive Committee

Finance Committee

Governance Committee

Planning/Events Committee

Fundraising/Development Committee

Marketing Committee

Economic Revitalization Committee

Historic Preservation Committee

History/Education Committee

In Memory 


George Arthur

Bishop William Henderson